Leicester Belgrave Hall
Belgrave Hall is a Queen Anne-style Grade II-listed building. It is situated on the northern edge of the city of Leicester.
It was built as a substantial family home between 1709 and 1713 by Edmund Cradock, a Leicester hosiery merchant, on the site adjacent to Belgrave Church.
The hall has had several owners and their families within it rooms over the years, including John Ellis, who famously brought the railway to Leicester and was associated with George Stephenson.
John Ellis took possession of Belgrave Hall in 1847 when he was 58. With a wife and seven daughters, he was one of Leicester’s most prominent figures.
John died in 1862, and his wife and five daughters stayed at Belgrave Hall. Margaret, the last of the daughters, died in 1923. Seventy-six years after they arrived.
What of Belgrave Hall now?
In 1936, the hall was sold to the Corporation of Leicester to be used as a museum. With its storied history and timeless charm, Belgrave Hall transforms into a canvas of uncanny as the sun sets. The air grows thick with intrigue, inviting you to explore the Halls, echoing halls and shadowy corridors where whispers and shadows of the past seem to linger. The sighting of a woman in a Vicotria dress has been reported for many years.
Who still haunts the impressive hall and whose ghost has been seen within the garden walls?
It made the News!
In 1999, two ghostly figures were recorded on security cameras outside the hall, reportedly to be that of the Ellis daughters.
Belgrave is listed 3rd on the list of Haunted locations in Leicestershire. With many ghost stories, this is the ideal location for a paranormal investigation.
Paranormal investigation at its best!
Wander through the large, cold, empty rooms and cellars soak up the atmosphere of this once-busy house.